Social Media LIFT Defined. My LIFT Score = 42,347. What is Your Score and/or Your Organization’s Score?

Question 1: What specifically is Social Media LIFT (a.k.a. Reach)? 

Answer 1  The calculation is simply as follows: LinkedIn{Connections}+Facebook{Friends}+Twitter{Followers}.

My Social Media Reach (LIFT) total social is as follows = LinkedIn “Connections” (7,078)+ Facebook “Friends” (4,727)+Twitter  “Followers”(30,542)+ This means I have access to communicate my message directly to 42,000+ individuals who have opted-in to receive (follow) my messages.  Charts 1 & 2 clearly depict what social MediaLift is and how I derived at my score:

This chart (#1) speaks to the definition of what a social media reach (LIFT) score is as follows:

Chart 1 – Social Media Lift Definition

This chart (#2) speaks to what my specific social media reach (LIFT) score is and how it is calculated:


Chart 2 – Social Media Lift Calculation

Ever notice firms claiming to be experts in social media, yet have relatively low Social Media Reach and Lift Scores?  I have seen global consulting, database management, direct marketing and even advertising agency firms with paltry scores  under 10,000, all claiming to be able to help you develop ‘world-class social media programs’. My question to you is, if they are unable to develop decent reach (LIFT) for their own firms (i.e. earn a high social media lift score), then how in the world will they be able to help you and your organization? Social Media Lift loosely translates to Database Size in traditional marketing & CRM terms.

WHY IS LIFT SO IMPORTANT?

Let’s reveal the root of the problem with a set of simple questions as follows:

Question 2: What will most social media & traditional media firms try to sell you so that THEY make the most $$?

Answer 2: Setting up Facebook fan pages, developing new websites, setting up infrastructure and establishing your presence in social media, the web, etc. While these get you established in social media or the web, they do little to provide bottom line value to your business. Building social media infrastructure without adding effective lift is like having a gun with just a few bullets – Looks impressive, but will enable you to only hit a very few targets with limited results.

Question 3: What will provide you with the highest business value from social media?

Answer 3: Having a large social media LIFT Score (a.k.a. social media reach), bigger than your competitors, so that you may communicate, sell, brand and influence your followers. Without effect LIFT you are limited by how widespread you can leverage your message to the world.

Of course having high quality contacts and building relationships with them is equally important, but if you don’t have a decent lift score or social media following, you can’t get do either of these next steps.  I, for example, have screened each of my friends/connections/follows to ensure they are of high quality and are of the type that can help my business grow.  In this case, Reach Quality = Correlation of Lift contact Needs/profile to your brand messaging/content.

HOW DO I ACHIEVE A HIGH LIFT SCORE?

Question 4: How do you attain a high social media lift score?

Answer 4:  By running effective social media follower, friend, connection campaigns to increase your lift score. There are many examples of these campaigns by organizations such as ‘help us reach 100,000 Facebook fans and we’ll donate to $x to charity’, ‘when we reach 50,000 followers, we’ll host a fan appreciation party’, please connect to me for important news on topic x’, etc. It is surprising how many organizations establish themselves in social media (‘hey, I’m now here’), but then do nothing do increase their fan bases, reach, etc. The web is littered with firms that have taken the first step in getting into social media, but have done very little to expand their presence and LIFT scores. This last step is the most important in ‘getting real’ in terms of social media.  I have developed a very unique cross-platform campaign system that is highly effective in gaining connections, friends, followers – hence my high LIFT score.

HOW CAN I MONITOR & MANAGE MY OWN LIFT SCORE?

If you really want to determine your score, your firm’s score or that of a social media company you want to hire, you now have to look no further than a relatively new site called SocialChiefs.com (http://www.socialchiefs.com) .  You submit your account information to this site and they calculate your social media reach (LIFT) for you (http://www.socialchiefs.com/default.aspx?c=3 ). I recently did this and found out in recent weeks that I was rated the #4 globally in Social Media Reach by SocialChiefs per the following chart:

Chart 3 – Global Social Media Reach Ranking as Rated by SocialChiefs.com

The following chart illustrated my specific reach (LIFT) calculations by SocialChiefs.com

Chart 4 – Specific Global Social Media Reach (LIFT) Calculations as Rated by SocialChiefs.com

Question 5: What is your social media reach (LIFT) score and what is the score of the social media firm you’ve hired?

Commentary on your score – If you hired a social media firm to build you social media presence and now your LIFT score is under 10,000, then you likely got ripped off and/or not netting the true power of social media. They took the big $$ to get you set up in social media and then left you hanging with paltry reach (LIFT) numbers (<10,000) which is equivalent to taking the money and leaving you with little to show in terms of real business value.  “Hey look at my Facebook Fan page – isn’t it great! But I only have 200 fans to communicate with – was this really worth it?”

About StevenJeffes
About Steve Jeffes: Steven Jeffes is a thought leader in developing world-class marketing, digital marketing, e-commerce, corporate innovation, CRM, social media, loyalty, customer loyalty/retention and customer service excellence programs. The recipient of many awards (http://www.stevenjeffes.com/stevenjeffes_awards.html), Steve is expert marketing strategy design & optimization: design, development and launch of world-class and best practice marketing and social media programs; change management organizational design and process excellence in marketing, sales, customer service, engineering, product management; and development of successful sales and sales management programs for Fortune 100 companies and government entities. He holds dual B.B.A. degrees in Computer Science and Finance from Temple University and a Master’s in Organizational Design and Excellence from the University of Pennsylvania/Wharton. Steve can be e-mailed at stevenjeffes@gmail.com or contacted via phone at 518-339-5857.

8 Responses to Social Media LIFT Defined. My LIFT Score = 42,347. What is Your Score and/or Your Organization’s Score?

  1. jimstagnitti says:

    Steve- Goes without saying that there are many people who have more than 40k twitter followers alone, plus FM and LI. Why don’t they show above you on the Social Chiefs list?

    • StevenJeffes says:

      Jim,

      There could be many reasons for this as follows:

      1. They are not savvy/aware enough to know about SocialChiefs.com as of yet.
      2. You’ll also notice that many of the existing SocialChiefs are generally only strong in one dimension – either Twitter, Facebook or LinkedIn. Many of the current leaders are strong only on Twitter (i.e. 40k+).
      3. They chose not to be listed for business or personal reasons.

      Thank you,

      Steve

  2. StevenJeffes says:

    UPDATE: Through very agressive campaigning this summer, my LIFT score is now 76,281. This means I have added 34,000 connections in approximately 2 months! Watch for my upcoming blog on this topic – Social Campaigns: From 0 to 60,000 connections in just a few months.

    Steve

  3. StevenJeffes says:

    UPDATE: Through very agressive campaigning this summer, my LIFT score is now ~94,000. This means I have added ~48,000 connections in several months! Watch for my upcoming blog on this topic – Social Campaigns: From 0 to 60,000 connections in just a few months.

  4. Dolores says:

    fantastic publish, very informative. I’m wondering why the opposite experts of this sector don’t realize
    this. You must proceed your writing. I am
    sure, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!

  5. You actually make it appear really easy together with
    your presentation however I to find this matter to be actually
    one thing that I think I might by no means understand.
    It kind of feels too complex and extremely huge for me.
    I’m taking a look ahead on your subsequent post, I’ll try to get the hold of it!

  6. Pansy says:

    Awesome story on Social Media LIFT Defined. My LIFT Score = 42,347.

    What is Your Score and/or Your Organization’s Score?
    | Stevenjeffes: Social Media, Marketing, CRM, Corporate Innovation Blog.

    It is really one of the most useful that Ive looked at in quite a
    while.

  7. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my
    blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a
    plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some
    experience with something like this. Please let me know if you
    run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

Leave a comment