HOTEL SOLD OUT ?? – SOCIAL NETWORK YOUR WAY IN

When Persistency & Social Connections intersect with a World Class Hotel General Manager – anything is possible…

A story of how a very persistent and well connected social media expert was able to network his way into an otherwise sold out hotel by socially connecting with the hotel’s world-class general manager…

Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn’s Landing

Date: July 1st, 2011, Situation – Hotel Sold Out on 1st of 2 day Planned Stay – Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn’s Landing is the best hotel for my upcoming & out-of-town meetings, but I can only book Thursday July 14th, not Wednesday July 13th which is completely booked – no luck in booking 2 consecutive nights at this same hotel. The hotel showing booked for 7/13 for many days. Call hotel – they say the hotel is oversold. I obtain Hotel General Manager’s name from front desk agent – his name is Mike Costello.

Date: July 10th, Action PlanFind Mike Costello on LinkedIn, Send Him an Invite, Ask to Connect due to ‘upcoming stay at hotel’

LinkedIn Invite to Hotel General Manager

Date: July 9th – Connect & Correspond to the Hotel General Manager – Mike Costello, General Manager from the Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn’s Landing Connects with me. I send him an e-mail based on his e-mail address being available on his LinkedIn profile:

Accepted LinkedIn Invitation by Hotel General Manager

E-mail to Hotel General Manager After Connecting on LinkedIn

Date: July 11th, Update, Receive Response E-mail From Hotel General Manager: Mike Costello e-mails me indicating the 13th is completely sold out and suggests that I drop my bags off early on Wednesday so I could proceed to my planned meetings. Mike Promised to “review our status tomorrow for any changes due to cancellations or people not showing up without indicating so.”

Date: July 11th, Update, Send Response E-mail To Hotel General Manager:

Letter to Hotel General Manager - Thanks for Following Up

Date: July 12th, 9:30 AM, Update, Receive a “Reservation Change” E-mail from Hyatt indicating my reservation for the 13th had been made.

13th Opens Up, Reservation Changed, I'M IN ! :)

13th Opens Up, Reservation Changed, I'M IN ! 🙂

Date: July 12th, 11:24 AM, Update, Receive an E-mail from Hotel General Manager. Mike Costello indicates I am I am “Set for Wednesday “ (the 13th) and wishes me “Safe Travels”. I write back immediately indicating “Thank you so much!”

Date: July 14th, 9AM, The last day of my stay. I make it a point to visit the hotel Administrative offices to thank Mike, but unfortunately he is a meeting. I convey my “Thank you” to his Administrative assistant. She Promises to relay the message to him.

Date: July 14th, 4PM, Call from Hotel GM while on the train on my way home. Receive a phone call on my cell phone from the hotel GM (Mike Costello) indicating he was glad to be able to help me and appreciated the fact that I told him that his hotel was top-notch and that I really enjoyed my stay. Mike then said to please consider coming back to his hotel when I am in the area again. I told him I would now consider no other hotel except the Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn’s Landing to stay when in the area due to the following:

1) His world-class customer service and going above and beyond to assist guests

2) The way the hotel was run as a model of hospitality from the excellent level of guest service and the excellent staff that was always willing to help at every instance.

Bottom line – Persistence and connections do pay off (I seldom take no for an answer and always ‘figure out how to get to the goal line’ no matter what – my nickname was “tank” in college days for being so persistent and always getting the job/task done), but only if this persistency is met by a savvy and World-Class Hotel General Manager like Mike Costello from Hyatt.

If you are in the Philadelphia area, I urge you to seriously consider the Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn’s Landing – the staff, the management and accommodations are world-class and 5-star all around.

About StevenJeffes
About Steve Jeffes: Steven Jeffes is a thought leader in developing world-class corporate innovation, CRM, marketing, social media, loyalty, customer retention and customer experience programs. The recipient of many awards (http://www.stevenjeffes.com/stevenjeffes_awards.html), Steve is expert marketing strategy design & optimization: design, development and launch of world-class and best practice marketing and social media programs; change management organizational design and process excellence in marketing, sales, customer service, engineering, product management; and development of successful sales and sales management programs for Fortune 100 companies and government entities. He holds dual B.B.A. degrees in Computer Science and Finance from Temple University and a Master’s in Organizational Design and Excellence from the University of Pennsylvania/Wharton. Steve can be e-mailed at stevenjeffes@gmail.com or contacted via phone at 518-339-5857.

2 Responses to HOTEL SOLD OUT ?? – SOCIAL NETWORK YOUR WAY IN

  1. room2review says:

    Very nice blog.
    We are also launching a new hotel reputation management solution and would like your feedback we have all your concerns here and a great opportunity for hotel owners and general managers.your visit at this site will be appreciated .
    room2review

  2. Appreciate the recommendation. Will try it out.

Leave a Reply

